This is all Barbara’s fault!

Standard

Me and BarbThis is all Barbara’s fault!

We moved to Cartersville in 2004. That’s when I met one of my dear friends Barbara. She and I have been running together for almost 10 years. Every Tuesday she would start earlier, most of the time without me. 5:30am was already WAY earlier than I wanted to be up, but she had to get to Rotary by 7:30am.

Let’s face it, when anyone mentions Rotary the first thing that comes to mind is a bunch of stuffy old business men, in starched suits, sitting around listening to a monotone speaker and discussing all the rigid rules of Rotary. And heaven help you if you missed a meeting! I was convinced there was a secret Rotary dungeon where they would tie you to a post and beat you if you were unable to attend.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The top reasons people join Rotary are…

1. Business Development (This should be last, in my opinion.)
2. Friendship
3. Citizenship
4. Service

I was a hospice nurse working sometimes 60 hours a week when I broke down and attended my first meeting. It seemed like the thing to do, and if Barb was a part of it…surely it couldn’t be all that bad. Not only was it not that bad, it was life changing.

I hate stereotypes, so let me dispel a few myths.

1. No stuffy old men. My club’s members range in age from 20s to 60s.

2. You are not required to wear a starched suit. In fact, you can actually wear jeans. I frequently show up in scrubs when I’m seeing patients.

3. No monotone speakers. Members rotate bringing speakers. Not only are they not dull, they are informative, interesting and entertaining. We even had a hypnotist speak to us not long ago.

4. There are rules. There always are. But the 4 Way Pledge of the things we think, say or do is more like the golden rule and very simple: Is it the truth? Is it fair to all concerned? Will it build good will and better friendships? Will it be beneficial to all concerned? Trust me, if everyone lived by these rules, the world would be a much better place!

5. There are no dungeons. In fact you CAN miss a meeting. All you have to do is make it up by attending another Rotary club, reading informative articles online or performing service activities. I figure 2 weeks in Bangladesh gives me make-ups for life!

So here I am 2 years later, proud to call myself a Rotarian. I give my time to Rotary. I sit on the Board. I show up (most) Tuesdays. I attend the functions. I spontaneously volunteer to go on a 2 week medical mission trip to Bangladesh. Why, you ask?

1. I have established the most incredible friendships that will last a lifetime. My friends are precious to me, and I don’t know what I would do without them.

2. Rotary has given me the chance to become a participating member of my community.

3. Now I truly have the opportunity to “fix things” on a local, state, national and WORLD level!

4. Without the support, help and advice of many members I would have never had the guts to go out on a limb and start my own patient advocacy business.

The simple truth is this: Rotary, and the amazing people in Rotary, give me far more than I could ever give back.

So this is clearly all Barbara’s fault! I can’t thank her enough. And in the next few weeks, I CAN NOT WAIT to see how Rotary will continue to change my life.

8 responses »

  1. Perhaps your Rotary stereotype comes from the ‘olden days’ in Macon. The ‘Monday’ club used to be all white males. The Wednesday club was created to allow women, racial diversity, and more fun ~ that’s the one I joined when returning to Macon. The ‘Monday’ club has loosened some rules, and another Thursday club joined. And yes, the 4-Way Test works! Thanks for your updates, AND your explanation. ‘RahRah’

    • You are funny Rhonda. I didn’t know until recently that women were only allowed into Rotary in the 1980’s. That’s crazy to me!

      I’m trying to get this blog posted on all the Districts websites. It should be up on mine soon. If you have any pull in yours or know who I can contact let me know.

      Can’t wait to come down and speak to y’all!

  2. Tricia, this is absolutely beautiful! I’m so thankful you are doing a blog during your journey. You have so much to share & you will be sharing your inspiring thoughts with the world!! Thank you for taking the time to make our world a better place to be by giving back to others. Peace Through Service. Thank you for taking this leadership role & for being the great Rotarian you are. See you in the morning!

    Laura

  3. I have a few things I’d like to blame on Barbara too! Maybe we need to start a new Blog just for this purpose. 🙂

    Seriously though Tricia… great work so far. I look forward to live updates from Bangladesh.

  4. This is an absolutely beautiful expression of you, your mission, and our Rotary club. We are a motley crew, in the best possible way, and your smile and laughter enrich Tuesdays for all of us. Thank you for making this trip, sharing your talents, and helping children who are so deserving. You will be missed! Praying for safe travels and looking forward to your return. 🙂

    • Thank you Karen! I am so honored by your kind words. I love our little group. I think we all have very diffent strengths and abilities. I’m just happy I get to use mine in such a positive way.

      And as much as I dislike public speaking… I can not wait to come back and share my experiences with everyone.

      Keep an eye out for my sweet daughter while Im away. I’m excited about the spring benefit.

      I will miss all of you!!

Leave a comment